The Author’s Views

I have recently had a rush of these stories to pour out of me in a miraculous
waterfall of light that helped to stave off the darkness of an often crass and
unfeeling world we find ourselves in occasionally. I read a recent post by a
long-time acquaintance who was venting on the very subject I am about to touch on…
This blog site is entitled Urban Legends for a reason. I am writing of things in
the past of this area of South Central Kentucky known as the “Barrens”. They are
factual accounts of some events, and some are only rumor and hearsay, different
items that have evolved into urban legend in some parts of the local area.
This definition of urban legend is taken from the online Merriam-Webster Dictionary:
urban legend noun
Definition of URBAN LEGEND
: an often lurid story or anecdote that is based on hearsay and widely circulated as
true —called also urban myth

Nowhere does this state that urban only means city. When we write articles, post
pictures, make anecdotes, follow local festivals, parades, and county fairs and
such, we come across the people who are not from the local area, and they like to
make sly and rude comments to us to show their “superiority” over our obvious
“rustication.” All I can say to those people is, “If you don’t like our so-called
rustication, why are you here? If you want all that stuff you left, then why did
you leave? If you are not satisfied with what is here, go back where you came
from…” Honestly, that will take care of your dissatisfaction. Because most people
come here to stay because they Like it. Don’t ruin it for everybody else just
because you are unhappy.
Seriously, our area had debate teams, reading clubs, some very serious and educated
individuals who traveled back and forth to so-called civilization. But they came
here where they could be free of inner-city slums, workhouses, and other oppression.
They had a desire to experience a quieter place, filled with a special peace that
most people today still search for, and when they find it, that’s where they stay.
My life had to stop this last week to allow a part of life to move along, as it
inevitably does, and we must mourn the passing of a loved one. I will be back with
my next installments shortly. Until then, I will tell you that you won’t know what
you’re getting here until it’s off the press. But it will hopefully be worth your
wait! Next stop is Neddie’s Caves.

About Gclee

I am a long time genealogy and local history hunter from Barren Co., KY. I have many stories to share that may be of interest to other local genealogists and history buffs. I enjoy this as a hobby and hope I can be of encouragement to others. I also hope everyone enjoys my stories as much as I have enjoyed learning about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

