Barren River Treasure

I posted an article in October on an old Indian legend from the Claypool area of Warren County, and I’ve had several responses to the idea the supposed buried treasure may still be buried there. The likelihood of that is very doubtful, if there was any truth to that story at all. From the archeological evidence, a battle between white settlers and Indians took place there about 250 years ago. I am sure that if there had been a large treasure hidden there to support the settlers that one of the survivors of this battle dug it up and made off with it.
Indians of this area were a very superstitious lot, and were grand storytellers. It is all part of how Urban Legends evolved. I love a good story, but sometimes when you separate facts from embellishment, you end up disappointed at the end of the day.
Now, back before the Barren River Dam was built, and the floodwaters could be controlled, Barren River could have had some places buried by dirt and time. Any caves that close to the river could have remained dangerous and even partially hidden. In this day and time, I would say they would be easy to find.
I do know of several people from out in that area that have boasted of looking for the grand treasure, and these tales go all the way back to the early 20th century. when several people knew the exact spot of the cave. These men who searched were brave individuals who were not afraid of a supposed curse.
But it’s all in the thrill of the hunt. So, if any of you locals have any luck on locating buried treasure, I hope to see you on the front page of the Bowling Green Daily News.
On to the next adventure!!

About Gclee

I am a long time genealogy and local history hunter from Barren Co., KY. I have many stories to share that may be of interest to other local genealogists and history buffs. I enjoy this as a hobby and hope I can be of encouragement to others. I also hope everyone enjoys my stories as much as I have enjoyed learning about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

