Haunted Houses? Real or Imaginary

Recently, I have been following a story about a bogus haunted house in a neighboring state that was demolished because the owner had become privy to the stories that had been invented about the place to draw a crowd of ghostchasers. Really?! It’s not like this neck of the woods is not FULL of places of questionable reputation. Why make up stories about people and places and get yourself in a boat full of hot water?
The place I have heretofore mentioned shall remain unnamed on this post, as it is of no interest to Barren Co., KY. But many years ago we had a similar incident, and today, I still have people ask me, “Do you know anything about the Green Mansion? I heard it was a really scary place!” I promise to try not to laugh here, but it really is hard for me. Makes me want to send them to places out in the woods here that would make them wet their pants in terror just to be spiteful.
But, honestly, this situation I get put in on occasion brings my protective hackles up. Many things in the last several decades have occurred surrounding this local urban legend that makes any genuine local historian balk at giving any helpful information. I never give precise directions. If you are not from this area, you will never even come close to the vicinity with my vague, “it’s off of Oil Well Road and you have to leave the road to get to it.”
My most important off-putting answer is generally, “The house has been gone for several years and there is no trace of it now. Why do you ask?”
If you wonder why I would be this standoffish about a supposed haunted house, its several factors that add up to some questionable reasons why anyone would want to brave a two plus mile walk off the road, a really nice hike if you know how to protect yourself from chiggers and Copperhead bites… oh, and VERY big cow snakes. And you might want to get permission from landowners. And if you find the correct place, you will be standing in the middle of a very big field. Nothing except a small graveyard, which stands quite a distance from where the old house was. And here is where my protective instincts come in. The graveyard is very old, and it has been vandalized many times over the last several decades by overzealous people looking for a quick thrill at having located a “genuine” paranormal site.
And now I get righteous. There is a Civil War soldier buried here, who died in his early 20s of some unnamed illness, probably Typhoid, which ran rampant in the soldiers’ camps. The owners of this small farm, that lived their life here, never died here. They were not murdered here, no one tied a child to a chair and set them on fire. Whoever invented these stories, and I’ve heard several more that will remain unpublished, really should go to Hollywood and become famous.
The Green Mansion never really existed. The house that stood at this site was a small one by standards, and had been abandoned for many decades when the legend of it started in the 1970s. The house collapsed in the early 1990s, and it was completely demolished in the early 2000s. End of ghost story.
I find it a very quiet place, and the cemetery is a haunting reminder of our own mortality. Sadly it is in neglect, but it is now protected by state laws preventing further destruction of it.
The legend of the Green Mansion lives on, but only in your imagination. Have a very blessed day!

About Gclee

I am a long time genealogy and local history hunter from Barren Co., KY. I have many stories to share that may be of interest to other local genealogists and history buffs. I enjoy this as a hobby and hope I can be of encouragement to others. I also hope everyone enjoys my stories as much as I have enjoyed learning about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

