Christopher J. and Pleasant Church

It has been brought to my attention that I have made a grave error in the tale of John and Josh Adwell and their trials for the murder of Radford Bailey.
I stated:
“It is noted that witnesses for the defense – Christopher J. Church was married to Nancy Jane Adwell, a sister of John and Josh. Church was the son of George Church, who was murdered in a field with a hoe in 1832…. Another sister of John and Josh Adwell, Mary was married to Pleasant Church, a brother of Chris, and son of George Church.”
Christopher and Pleasant Church were actually brothers, but they were the sons of Thomas J. Church and Amassa Pace. Thomas was a brother to the aforementioned George Church, who was murdered.
I checked my own research, to make sure I did not have it wrote down wrong in my family file on the Church family, and discovered that I had them down as Thomas’ sons, and it was a misreading of those records that caused me to make this error. With further reading of my records, I also made note that Amassa Pace Church was the daughter of Joseph Pace and Martha Foster. Joseph and Martha Pace are buried in the little obscure cemetery, known in old county records as the Nunn-Pace Cemetery, in the Doe Run subdivision off of Coral Hill Road. This is where John and Josh Adwell were interred after they were hung for murder.
John and Josh Adwell’s father had died when they were still young boys, and their uncle, Sam Adwell, had taken their responsibility on his shoulders. One of Sam’s daughters, Susan Jane, married W. James Pace, son of Joseph Pace and Martha Foster. The Nunn-Pace Cemetery fell into disuse after this incident, and Sam Adwell and several of his children and their families were buried in the newly formed New Salem Cemetery. James Pace gave the land adjacent to the church for use as a cemetery, and he was buried there in 1877.
When I began this blog, I sat out with the intention of sharing some of this information with individuals of a like-minded curiosity for obscure bits of history.  I do not wish to belittle the gravity of these intense traumatic memories in our county’s past or any of the descendants of the victims or other participants.  Most of these stories I have set forth to share are of more than passing interest for me, they come from a deep abiding connection with individuals, families, and places aforementioned and in any future reference.

This error on the Church brothers also shows up in another post entitled “…Coincidences,” and I have noted there that they were the nephews of George Church, rather than his sons.  This error was an unintentional misreading on my part, and I apologize for any discomfort that it may have given to the families of these individuals.  I appreciate any of my reader’s input, especially if they are directly connected to these stories, as sometimes I have only what I am able to research.

On we go and Happy reading!

About Gclee

I am a long time genealogy and local history hunter from Barren Co., KY. I have many stories to share that may be of interest to other local genealogists and history buffs. I enjoy this as a hobby and hope I can be of encouragement to others. I also hope everyone enjoys my stories as much as I have enjoyed learning about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

