Postscript – The Frank family

While researching for this next article on the Cholera of 1853, I was going through my personal records here at home, and found some old records I had on the Frank family I had forgotten I had. It’s a shame I didn’t come across them while working on the Bloody Hand, but there are other things to share. This article could also be filed under those strange coincidences again.

You see, I posted the article on Sam Fowler because that particular incident in the history of Glasgow has always tickled my funny bone.  I enjoy the fact that some people had a sense of humor back in the day, and I wanted to share his ingenuity with you, the reader.  I just find it odd, is all, that I had forgotten in the years since I collected this information, that Sam’s daughter Juliet married John Frank, and was the mother of Mary Frank Stone.

Peter Frank and his brother John came to Glasgow in the very early days, and purchased Lot #10 and Lot #35 on the original plat of the township of Glasgow. Lot #10 was on the corner of North Green Street and Water Street, and Lot # 35 was on the corner of East Main Street and Main Cross Street, or we know it today as Broadway.  Lot #10 adjoined the lot on which Sam Fowler lived, and was shown as the J. Frank lot on the 1879 Beers and Lanagan map of Glasgow and Barren County.

Peter Frank was the father of the following children:

John Frank was born in 1804, and he married Juliet H. Fowler, daughter of the previously mentioned Sam Fowler.  They were the parents of poor Mary Frank Stone.  In my records, it is stated that Samuel Fowler’s house stood on the corner of Broadway and Water Streets, most likely on that section between Water and Front Streets.  I also have on my records that when the house on the lot between North Green Street and Broadway, that is now an apartment building, was remodeled, they found signs of three graves in the corner of the back yard.  This would be on that property line.  It is stated that they believed one of the graves to belong to Samuel Fowler.

John’s sister Sarah Ann was born in 1807.  She married Thomas A. Edmunds.

America Frank was born in 1810, and she married Thomas H. Harrison.  She was deceased by the time her father passed away, which is why she was not mentioned in his will.

William Frank was born in 1812, and he married Elizabeth Wilson.

Susan Jane was born in 1816, and she married John McLain.  More will be mentioned of her family at the end of this writing.

The youngest, Josiah Frank, was born in 1819.  He went off to Cumberland County sometime around his niece’s murder, and he married Amanda Williams of Cumberland County.  Josiah died fairly young, an it was said Amanda and their daughter moved back to Glasgow, but did not like it here, and after a few years moved back to Cumberland County.  Records also indicate the two women finished out their lives running a local hotel in Burkesville.

On that note, Susan Frank was the mother of John T. McLain, who is fondly known as “Captain Jack.”  Capt. Jack McLain is well-known by visitors to the Alpine Lodge, on that high hill overlooking the beautiful Burkesville, KY.  The man was buried there, and a state historical marker marks the spot, a grass island in the middle of the Lodge’s parking area.  On it is the following:

Jack McLain accidentally killed a good friend.  In sorrow he took his own life on September 21, 1866.  Previously he had requested, “When I die I want to be buried on top of that highest hill overlooking Burkesville, as that is as near to Heaven as I will ever get.”

About Gclee

I am a long time genealogy and local history hunter from Barren Co., KY. I have many stories to share that may be of interest to other local genealogists and history buffs. I enjoy this as a hobby and hope I can be of encouragement to others. I also hope everyone enjoys my stories as much as I have enjoyed learning about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

