A Trip Down Memory Lane

I have had a very eventful summer, and now I am back to tackle the next set of Urban Legends in Barren County. Over the next several entries will be the coverage of actual murders and hangings that have taken place in our county’s illustrious past. I intended to start on the earliest, and try to make my way forward to the last, but as I have updated my research for each story, I have found that a couple of places in which these events occurred actually had more than one tragedy occur there. So, I think in all fairness, I will start with the first such recorded event, and then add two more events that happened in the same area. It is amazing to me how oral legends add to the urban legend of the teenager. These events occurred in the distant past, and yet, tendrils of fear from them pervade the very air of a place, and leave questions in our minds of the paranormal.
I remember as a child going with my father to visit his cousin, George Groce, on his farm at Randolph, in what is now Metcalfe County. But back in the distant past, before the Civil War, this was part of Barren County.
George Groce was a lively man, and he and his sweet wife Edna welcomed everyone to their farm. George’s mother was born Katherine Dugard, and she was a daughter of Seth Dugard, Sr. and Mary Eliza Goode, who were my great grandparents.
The Dugards are well known for their storytelling, as I can vouch for on many of the older members of the family. George loved to carry on conversation about many and varied themes, so you never knew what you’d be getting. He was also very good with animals, and he had a pet bull that followed him around like it was a dog. I actually think that it thought it was a dog. He made a comment to me once that his animals didn’t like the woods across the road from his house. He said there was a spot just inside the woods that was always cold, no matter the weather.
As years have gone by, and all the older generation have passed on, I remember these stories told around the tables, or on the front porch as we visited on summer nights. Many a tale was noteworthy, and some of them I’ve pursued to get a sensible answer. These were no normal ghost stories and legends… No, they were very real at some point in history. And I intend to share what I know.
Demystify the mystery. Behind every ghost story, and most every urban legend, is a factual account that can lend some light to the darkness. And so my next few stories will deal with the area of the small hamlet of Randolph, Kentucky, and events that occurred there many, many years in the past, back to the very early years of Barren County, and forward through its transition to Metcalfe County, into the present day. Hope you enjoy this journey through time!

About Gclee

I am a long time genealogy and local history hunter from Barren Co., KY. I have many stories to share that may be of interest to other local genealogists and history buffs. I enjoy this as a hobby and hope I can be of encouragement to others. I also hope everyone enjoys my stories as much as I have enjoyed learning about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Trip Down Memory Lane

  1. Susan says:

    I am wondering if you are related to the Dugard side or to the Goode side of the family? It appears that my great-great-grandfather must have been William S. Good(e), very likely the brother of Mary Eliza Goode. However, I am trying to track down the particular Wm. S. Good(e) who would have been married and welcomed his first son in 1865. This particular son would have then married a McCoy in 1886 in Barren County, which is where my grandfather had lived as a boy. Is any of this sounding familiar? Thanks!!

    • Gclee says:

      My paternal great grandmother was Mary Eliza Goode, and she married Seth Washington Dugard. She was the daughter of Henry Goode and Sally Phillips. This line is not directly related to the line that Cecil Goode descends from. There are two William S. Goodes, one in my line, and one in his. Mine left Cumberland Co. for Alabama when he was still quite young.

  2. RM says:

    i live in randolph and always have. the road beside me is “mccoy-witty rd.” and the farm your talking about is now he farm fields of howard Deweese. they live very close to the randolph store. the randolph store is owned by my grandparents. the old randolph store is very very close to pleasant hill cemetary, and the church. we used to attend pleasant hill. many people we still kow go there.

    • Gclee says:

      I’ve actually heard several stories about McCoy-Witty Rd., but I wouldn’t have a clue on who to get in touch with now to know if any of them are so. There was supposedly a big old house on that road that was supposed to be haunted.

  3. Susan says:

    Back to William S. Goode. I could be wrong, but I believe that “my” William S. Goode was the son of Henry B. Goode. The 1880 census shows a Wm. S. Good married to Mary A. Good. Their oldest child was Geo. W. Good. There were 8 children at the time of this census; this included one set of twins. In 1893, William Samuel Goode is married to Nancy Jane Murphy in Bradley, TN.
    Now in 1894 a William S. Goode is married to Elizabeth; they are living in Bradley, TN. By 1910 they are living in Alabama and the parents to 8 children–including one set of twin girls.
    My interest in William S. Goode is that I believe that he was the father to George W. Goode, who married Mary Francis McCoy in January of 1886 in Glasgow, Kentucky. The result of this union was my grandfather, William S. Goode.
    George W. and Mary Francis died some time after 1886 and before 1900.
    My grandfather, who ended up living in the Glasgow area with McCoy family members, died when my mother was only five years of age. He had relocated to Washington State as a young adult and must not have shared much about his family; we know very little.
    Interestingly Moses Foster Hurtt (brother to the mother of Mary Francis McCoy Goode) was married to Nancy Ellen Goode, sister of William S. and Mary Eliza Goode. So, this suggests it quite likely that I’m tracking the correct William S. Goode, the one connected to your family. One researcher has determined that he moved to Alabama in 1909.
    So, with all of this, do you happen to have any additional information about William S. Goode and/or George W. Goode?!?

Leave a Reply

