Mother’s Day Memoir

On Mother’s Day, every year, I enjoy having my mother with me one more year.  We should never take this for granted…

My grandmother lived to be 91 years old.  We were blessed to have her so many years.  She had 10 children, 26 grandchildren, and many of her great-grandchildren were already born before she passed away.  She loved us all very dearly, and aways let us know.

When she was 9 years old, she lost a brother one day, and her mother next in the 1918 Spanish Influenza epidemic that spread around the world. She had a younger sister, who was 5, and a younger brother, just 18 months old…left without their mother.  It was devastating. Those of us who have had our mothers cannot imagine what that was like.

I was always amazed at what a strong woman Lissia was.  She was an inspiration to me, and I miss her dearly on today of all days.  She taught me the meaning of a mother’s love at a very young age, and what it meant to be strong, even in the face of grief.  I spent years admiring her fortitude, through many trials that no one woman should have to suffer.  But she held her head up, and always persevered.  Her love for God and her family was what kept her going, blessing each day she was given.

I love her and I know she is up there now looking down on all of us, still praying for each and every one of us.  Happy Mother’s Day, Lissia!  And to all the other mothers out there.

About Gclee

I am a long time genealogy and local history hunter from Barren Co., KY. I have many stories to share that may be of interest to other local genealogists and history buffs. I enjoy this as a hobby and hope I can be of encouragement to others. I also hope everyone enjoys my stories as much as I have enjoyed learning about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mother’s Day Memoir

  1. Denis Beale says:

    Such a nice tribute to you grandmother Georgette. You are blessed to have had such a wise and loving person in your life. I can remember discovering in my family research that your grandmother’s brother died at such a young age in the influenza epidemic of 1918. While I was mourning a distant relative I had never known, I then discovered that his mother died the following day, also of influenza. I read the information, and then read it again, thinking to myself that this must be a mistake. Mothers and grandmothers are the heros of this world I have come to realize.

  2. Janet Smith says:

    I remember your grandmother very well. She was always so sweet to me. Bless her heart. I still have a copper charm she gave me. It was from Montana. I imagine she got it when she was visiting Barbara. This was back in 1967. I remember her being a wonderful cook, and her cakes were a treat. She came to our house once and made us home made fudge. We could hardly wait for it to cool. Mrs. Gass was always a good and kind woman. I only have good memories of her. She was especially kind to me at a time in my life when I had no one. I still have the keepsake she gave me and always always kept it because she meant a lot to me as a good friend.

  3. David Bastien says:

    Since, I was born at T.J. and loved to explore Barren Co. I am familiar with many of these locations, but not the story behind them. Almost a Paul Harvey ending! Enjoy these stories very much and plan to revisit some of the old places, Hopefully with permission this time !

Leave a Reply

